APPE Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl®

Welcome to the home of the Association For Practical And Professional Ethics Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl®, also known as the APPE IEB®. APPE IEB® is a unique, collaborative experience for undergraduate students that provides valuable educational experience in practical and professional ethics. 

Teams spend hours analyzing and preparing for regional and national competitions to see who has thought most deeply and presented their arguments most clearly on cases based on today's most pressing issues. Students develop ethical understanding of complex, ambiguous, and difficult to resolve issues, as well as key virtues associated with democratic deliberation.

Have questions? We want to hear from you. Reach out at [email protected] or 765-658-5015 to get connected with an experienced member of the Ethics Bowl community.

News and Updates

2023 APPE Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl® National Champion: U.S. Naval Academy
Congratulations to the U.S. Naval Academy, this year's APPE Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl® National Champion. The This year's runner-up was Tufts University. The National Competition was held in Portland, Oregon, March 4 and 5, 2023. Learn more here.

Oregon Public Broadcasting Previews the APPE IEB®
OPB “Think Out Loud” host Dave Miller talked to John Garcia, chair of the APPE IEB Council, and Eleanor Jeffers, a competitor and junior at Whitworth University in Spokane, Washington. Listen in.

2023 National Championship
The 27th Annual APPE IEB® National Competition was held in Portland, Oregon, March 2 to 5, 2023.

Congratulations to the 2023 National Competition Champion: U.S. Naval Academy
Coach: Shaun Baker
Team Members: Kyle Beasley, Jackson Hathaway, Olivia Hunt, Tomas Maldonado, Ryan Knight, Eduardo Ramirez, and Washington Ross

National Runner-Up: Tufts University

Coaches: Susan Russinoff, Audrey Ledbetter, Claire Ganiban
Team Members: Alana Cronin, Ezra Kanarick, Anna O'Sullivan, David Whittingham

The final eight teams included:

  • Rollins College (Quarterfinalist)
  • Santa Clara University (Semi-Finalist)
  • Tufts University (Runner-Up)
  • University of Chicago (Quarterfinalist)
  • University of Maryland (Semi-Finalist)
  • United States Naval Academy (Champion)
  • Utah Valley University (Quarterfinalist)
  • Virginia Military Institute (Quarterfinalist)

Pat Croskery Memorial Award 2023 Recipient:  Michael Jordan, San Jose State University
2023 Bob Ladenson "Spirit of the Ethics Bowl" Award: Utah State University
About the awards

Where are Ethics Bowl teams near you? 
View this map of the 2021 Regional Participating Teams. Don't see one at your university? You can start one! Learn more about how to start a team.

Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl, APPE Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl, APPE IEB, and IEB are registered service marks of the Association for Practical and Professional Ethics. These marks cannot be used without the express written permission of APPE.