Skip to content

APPE Leadership

APPE Board of Directors

APPE Board members are elected by the APPE membership each spring and serve four-year terms that run July 1 to June 30. If you're interested in learning more about running for an APPE Board member seat, reach out to


Jonathan Beever

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Director, Center for Ethics
University of Central Florida

Andrew I. Cohen

Andrew I. Cohen

APPE Board Treasurer

Associate Professor, Philosophy
Director, Jean Beer Blumenfeld Center for Ethics
Georgia State University

Dennis Cooley

Dennis Cooley

APPE Board Chair-Elect

Director, Northern Plains Ethics Institute
North Dakota State University

Raquel Diaz Sprague

Raquel Diaz-Sprague

Visiting Scholar, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Jun Fudano

Jun Fudano

Professor, Center for Higher Education Studies
Waseda University
Tokyo, Japan

Kenneth Goodman

Kenneth Goodman

Professor & Director, Institute for Bioethics and Health Policy
Director, UM Ethics Programs
University of Miami

Elisabeth Hildt

Elisabeth Hildt

Professor of Philosophy
Director, Center for the Study of Ethics in Professions
Illinois Institute of Technology

Deborah S. Mower

Deborah S. Mower

Director, The Center for Practical Ethics
Mr. and Mrs. Alfred Hume Bryant Associate Professor of Ethics
Department of Philosophy and Religion
University of Mississippi

Julia A. Pedroni

Julia A. Pedroni

APPE Board Secretary

Lecturer, Department of Philosophy
Williams College

Lee in Weston300x325

Lee Anne Peck

Professor Emerita, Journalism and Media Studies
University of Northern Colorado


Dena Plemmons

APPE Board Chair

Director, Research Ethics Education Program
University of California, Riverside
Graduate Division

Alex NEW 2024

Alex Richardson

Associate Director, Content Strategy and Engagement
Prindle Institute for Ethics, DePauw University


Earl Spurgin

Professor, Chair of Philosophy
John Carroll University


Qin Zhu

Associate Professor of Engineering Education
Virginia Tech

Ex Officio Board Members

Appointed by the APPE Board, Ex Officio Members are graduate students, early career scholars, or other professionals early in their engagement with applied ethics. They are non-voting members and serve two-year terms.

Vivian Altiery De Jesus

Vivian Altiery De Jesus

Resident Physician, Internal Medicine Program, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center

Lukas Chandler

Lukas Chandler

PhD Candidate, Duquesne University
Senior Analyst, The Health Management Academy

APPE Staff

Kristen Fuhs Wells

Kristen Fuhs Wells

Executive Director


APPE Committees

APPE IEB® Committee
Deborah Mower (Chair)*
Andrew Cohen*
Liz Coit*
Raquel Diaz-Sprague*
Alex Richardson*
Earl Spurgin*
Lida Anestidou
Sherri Conklin
Mark Doorley
John Garcia
Cynthia Jones
Michael Jordan
Bob Ladenson
Sally Merrill
Allison Radabaugh

Conference Committee
Earl Spurgin (Co-Chair)*
Vivian Altiery De Jesus (Co-Chair)*
Jonathan Beever*
Jun Fudano*
Lee Anne Peck*
Daniel Cheung
Andrew Cullison
Patrick Flanagan
Kelly Laas
Patrick Plaisance
Alif Laila Tisha

Finance Committee
(Board members only)

Andrew Cohen (Chair)*
Jonathan Beever*
Liz Coit*
Dennis Cooley*
Deborah Mower*
Alex Richardson*

Governance Committee
(Board members only)

Alex Richardson (Chair)*
Vivian Altiery De Jesus*
Lukas Chandler*
Dennis Cooley*

Membership Committee
Elisabeth Hildt (Co-Chair)*
Lukas Chandler (Co-Chair)*
Raquel Diaz-Sprague*
Jun Fudano*
Lee Anne Peck*
Sally Moore

Nominating Committee
Ken Goodman (Chair)*
Julie Pedroni*
Jun Fundano*
Jay Al-Hashimi
Lida Anestidou
Patrick Flanagan
Lisa M Lee

Programming Committee
Dennis Cooley (Co-Chair)*
Julie Pedroni (Co-Chair)*
Raquel Diaz-Sprague*
Elisabeth Hildt*
Qin Zhu*
Godswill Agbagwa
Jay Al-Hashimi
Robert Doyle
Jeffrey Dunn
Charles de Souza

*Board Member